Utah's finest intercollegiate debate team. Since 1922.

Weber State Debate

                                                    Mukai College Classic

 Tournament information can be found here


Tournament History

The Mukai College Classic honors the memory of beloved Assistant Professor and Director of Forensics,  Captain (Ret., U.S. Army) Robert Mukai, Esq., and the two members of Weber State College Debate team (Mary Clarke & Clifford Hughes), who were killed in a tragic car accident while returning from a debate tournament in California.  

Professor Mukai was born and raised in Ogden, he represented the University of Utah at the 1951 and 1952 National Debate Tournament.  He was also a scholar of forensic pedagogy in secondary education.  

Posthumously, Professor Mukai was named one of the "Top 50" most influential role models for young Utah lawyers by the Utah Bar Association.  As the Weber State yearbook, the Acorn, stated: "Robert Mukai, in all his personal relations, brought to Weber debaters the friendly exchange of ideas and a sense of unity not before felt on campus." 

Every year, Weber State names an Assistant Director of Forensics whose work reflects the values Director Mukai placed at the center of his organization.  To be eligible, recipients must be an Assistant Director of Head Coach and must have made a significant contribution to the development of intercollegiate debate in the West.


Mukai Coach of the Year

2016 Deven E. Cooper, California State University-Long Beach


2015     Gabriel Murillo, University of Iowa

2014     Izak Dunn, Arizona State University